App Review: Persimmon

The Basics

The premise of this app is that you set up an affirmation in each of seven life areas*. You then use the app in the morning to focus on your seven goals for twenty seconds each. At the end of your day, you are asked to answer yes or no to the question “Did your actions move you closer to your goal?” If you indicate yes, you can write down what steps you took or what you achieved.

*The 7 areas are: career & business; finance; spirituality; health & fitness; learning & creativity; love & relationships; family & friends.

The Positives

+ I like the simple design.

+ You can tweak or edit your goals at any time.

+ The app prompts you to close your eyes and visualize for 20 seconds in each section, so I don’t have to worry about timing myself, or think about how long I should visualize for.

+ If you use the app as indicated twice a day, you are forced to think about what you did during the day to further your goal. This brings an element of personal accountability to the app, too.

The Negatives

  • It only shows a log for the previous 5 days.
  • As far as I know, I can’t go back and check the evening log of what I did on a particular day to work toward my goals. I’d like to be able to access that record.
  • More photos to choose from within the app would be helpful, and make it easier to get up and running in the beginning.
  • There is no alarm or notification to nudge me to use this app. I could solve this easily by setting an alarm myself, but having it linked to the app would make me less likely to ignore a generic alarm.

Recommended for…

People who’d like an easy, user-friendly introduction to affirmations and visualization.

My 2 yen

I still get distracted from time to time – nothing to do with the app. I’m still working on making visualization a daily habit. Some days and some goals are easier to visualize than others, but I plan to continue using this app for another few months, at least. At that point, I may try out another app to see what else is available out there. If anyone has recommendations, I’m all ears 🙂

Seven goals is a lot to handle. I think this app is probably more effective when your goals cover just a couple of life areas. Even though I have written a goal for each of the seven life areas in the app, they all relate to two overarching goals: my family and my writing. Any more than that, and I might have given up by now!

Practical Details

Available on iTunes. Free.$2.99.

Languages: English, Russian.

UPDATE: As of March 21st 2016, the app now costs $2.99

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/persimmon-reach-7-goals-in/id929209003?mt=8

Leave a Reply

